Institute of Agriculture News

Professors Elected to Offices in Scientific Society

Scott Senseman, professor and head of UT’s Department of Plant Sciences, will serve as the Weed Science Society of America president-elect in 2017, and Larry Steckel, professor of plant sciences, will serve as vice-president.

AgResearch Leaders Honored for Service

Two members of the AgResearch leadership team were recently honored at the annual Research Center Administrators Society meeting in Mobile, Alabama.

UTIA Project Receives Top Honor from Department of Defense

A project to identify and track threatened, endangered and at-risk avian species on U.S. Department of Defense facilities has been named the DOD’s Environmental Security Technology Certification Program project of the year for 2016.

Boyer Receives SAEA Emerging Scholars Award

Chris Boyer, assistant professor of agricultural and resource economics, has been selected to receive an Emerging Scholars Award by the Southern Agricultural Economics Association.