Honors News

Two Students in Newest Class of Schwarzman Scholars

Two UT students have been named to the latest class of Schwarzman Scholars, a highly competitive program that offers selected students the opportunity to earn a master’s degree in China.

Faculty News and Notes

Honors and awards for the university’s faculty and graduate students.

Faculty, Staff, Students Lauded at Annual Honors Banquet

Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek celebrated faculty, staff, and students for their accomplishments and service Monday during the annual Honors Banquet. The banquet is the largest UT honors event of the year. It was held in the Carolyn P. Brown Memorial University Center. Top awards presented included Professor Bill Fox being honored as Macebearer, and nine of the university’s top students being named 2013 Torchbearers.

Five UT Students, Alumni Win Fulbright Awards for Study, Work

Five current students or recent graduates from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, have received grants from the Fulbright US Student Program to work and study abroad. This is the largest number of student Fulbright winners that UT Knoxville has had in at least twenty years.

UT Haslam Scholars Program Selects Finalists

High school seniors from Tennessee, Georgia, Alabama and Arkansas have been selected as finalists for the 2011 class of Haslam Scholars at UT Knoxville. The finalists will be on campus next month to interview. Fifteen will be invited to be part of the 2011-2012 class of Haslam Scholars.

Noted Economist to Give Inaugural Mayhew Honors Lecture at UT on Oct. 5

James K. Galbraith, an economist and frequent contributor to a number of national publications, will give the inaugural Anne Mayhew Distinguished Honors Lecture on Oct. 5 at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The event, which is free and open to the public, begins at 7 p.m. in the Toyota Auditorium in the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy, 1640 Cumberland Ave.

Two UT Undergraduates Win Goldwater Scholarships

Two UT Knoxville undergraduates have been named 2010 Barry M. Goldwater Scholars. Michael Jungwirth and Nathan Stebbins, both juniors, will receive scholarships from the Goldwater Foundation for their final year at UT.

Nominate Someone for 2010 Chancellor’s Awards in Teaching, Advising

The Office of the Chancellor is seeking nominations of outstanding teachers and academic advisors. Nominees will be considered for a “Chancellor’s Teaching Award” or a “Chancellor’s Advising Award” to be announced at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet.