Faculty Senate News

MacLennan to Represent Campus on UT Faculty Council

Bruce MacLennan, immediate past president of the Faculty Senate and an associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, has been elected by the Faculty Senate to serve as campus representative to the UT Faculty Council. His term begins on July 1 and ends in 2020. The UT Faculty Council confers with, advises, and communicates with

Read more

Faculty Senate Seeking Representatives

It’s election season for UT’s Faculty Senate, the faculty’s voice in the shared governance of the campus, and caucus chairs are looking for faculty members willing to serve.

Faculty Senate Welcome New Representatives

Faculty Senate President Joan Heminway and current President-elect Vincent Anfara this week announced the results of the recent Faculty Senate election. The new Faculty Senate president-elect is Steve R. Thomas. Anfara moves up to president and Thomas begins his term as president-elect on July 1. Also elected were the new members of the Faculty Senate that represent each college. These new members begin their three-year terms on August 1.

Chancellor Cheek Thanks Faculty for Attending Monday Meeting

Thank you to everyone who came to the first annual all-faculty meeting on Monday. Interim President Jan Simek, Faculty Senate President Toby Boulet and I shared information on the state of the university system, the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and its faculty.

Boulet Leads Faculty Senate

Budget cuts and the reorganization of higher education in Tennessee. Toby Boulet, who became UT Knoxville Faculty Senate president on July 1, said those two issues will be his priorities for the coming year.