Chancellor’s Honors Awards News

Faculty Recognized for Excellence in Teaching at Honors Banquet


At last week’s Honor’s Banquet, several faculty members were recognized with the Excellence in Teaching Award by Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek. The recipents were Mark Dekay, an associate professor of architecture; Lois Presser, an associate professor of sociology; Andrew Sherfy, a lecturer in biosystems engineering and soil science; and Brian Stevens, a lecturer in statistics, operations, and management science.

Faculty Recognized for Teaching at Annual Honors Banquet


Last week, Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek celebrated faculty, staff, and students for their accomplishments throughout the past academic year. Debora Baldwin, associate professor of psychology; Bruce MacLennan, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science; Anthony Nownes, professor of political science; and Marianne Wanamaker, associate professor of economics, each received the Alumni Outstanding Teacher Award.

Nominations Call for Ready for the World Citation Award

Nominations are now being accepted for faculty, staff, and students who have dedicated time and energy toward enhancing intercultural and international awareness among undergraduate students. The Ready for the World Citation Award will be presented at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet later in the semester.

UT Chancellor Honors Top Faculty, Staff and Students

Faculty, students, and staff were recognized at the annual University of Tennessee Honors Banquet Monday at the Carolyn P. Brown Memorial University Center. At the banquet, the largest UT honors event of the year, Chancellor Jimmy Cheek saluted the accomplishments of key members of the campus community.

Nominate Your Outstanding Professors

Who was your favorite UT professor? The Office of Alumni Affairs invites you to nominate him or her for the 2011 Alumni Outstanding Teacher Award. Each year, the UT Alumni Association funds four awards that recognize excellence in the classroom. These awards are part of the association’s continuing effort to encourage resourceful and creative instruction and to publicly recognize exceptional teaching, especially the teaching of undergraduates.

UT Knoxville Chancellor Honors Top Faculty, Staff and Students

UT Knoxville faculty, students and staff were recognized for their service and accomplishments at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet held Monday at the University Center. Hosted by Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek, the annual event honors members of the campus community.