Alumni Affairs News

Alumni Affairs to Hold Summer College Program July 13-17

Sports, fitness, and wellness will be the focus of this year’s Alumni Summer College at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Alumni and friends will explore the world of athletics, learn about healthy living, and delve into the psychology of sports during the week. Participants do not have to be UT alumni. The Alumni Summer College will take place July 13-17, with a one-day trip to Abingdon, Virginia, on Saturday, July 16.

UT Knoxville Alum, Author Discusses Book for Alumni Event

Critics call A. Scott Pearson’s latest novel “chilling”, “tantalizing,” and “a delicious tale.” Pearson—author, surgeon, and UT Knoxville alumnus—will be the featured speaker at an event sponsored by the UT Office of Alumni Affairs and the Alumni Association’s Knox County Chapter. The event will take place at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, April 18, in the Hodges Library Auditorium on UT’s campus.

UT Knoxville Chancellor’s Associates Welcomes New Members

Twenty new members have joined the UT Knoxville Chancellor’s Associates. The group, composed of business, professional and community leaders from the Knoxville area, help build public understanding of and support for the university. They serve three-year terms and meet monthly to learn about and interact with the university.

UT Alumni Board of Directors Honor Outstanding Alumni

The alumni board of directors at UT Knoxville honored 12 of its most outstanding members in a gala held Friday, Sept. 10, at the Marriott in downtown Knoxville. Four people were honored as distinguished alumni for their years of service and great personal and professional success.

UT Knoxville Alumni Affairs Offers Day of Learning

Have you ever wanted to learn more about dinosaurs, earthquakes and rocks in space? The UT Knoxville Office of Alumni Affairs offers you the chance to hear from UT experts on Friday, Sept. 17. The Alumni College program showcases faculty members from UT departments speaking on a specific theme.

2010 UT Alumni Awards Nominations Sought

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2010 UT Knoxville Alumni Awards. Nominations are due Feb. 19. The awards are sponsored by the UT Alumni Board of Directors.

Rockwell Collins Chairman and UT Knoxville Alum Invests in Student Leadership Program

UT Knoxville alumnus Clay Jones and his wife, Debbie, have donated $1 million to provide funding for the university’s student leadership program. Jones, Rockwell Collins chairman, president, and chief executive officer, visited campus last week to discuss plans for the gift, which will fund the Jones Director of Leadership Programming in the student affairs division.

UT Graduate Receives Accomplished Alumni Award, Addresses Students

Minneapolis-based attorney Randy Hopper has been recognized with UT Knoxville’s Accomplished Alumnus Award. The award is sponsored by the UT Knoxville Office of Alumni Affairs and recognizes graduates who have achieved great professional success.

UT Pride of the Southland Marching Band Marks 140 Years with Special Celebration

When first established, the Pride of the Southland Marching Band was a small, all-male corps of cadets attached to the Military Department at UT. That was 140 years ago. Today, the now-coed band at UT Knoxville boasts 250 members and is one of the most prestigious college bands in the country. To celebrate its history and various milestones throughout the decades, the Pride is hosting a special anniversary celebration as part of Homecoming 2009. Open to the public, the festivities kick off at 6:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 6, at the Knoxville Marriott.

UT Knoxville Alumni Board Celebrates Inaugural Meeting and Awards Dinner

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, has named an alumni board of directors to provide advice and counsel to the university administration and guidance for alumni initiatives. The first official meeting of the board was held Friday, Sept. 11. Alan Wilson, president, CEO and chairman of the board of McCormick and Co., serves as president of the board. Wilson is a 1980 graduate of the College of Communication and Information.