College of Arts and Sciences Honors Outstanding Faculty

Be Sociable, Share!

The College of Arts and Sciences celebrated outstanding faculty with awards in advising, teaching, research, outreach, and service during its annual Winter Convocation on Tuesday.

College of Arts and Sciences Winter Convocation 2012“Faculty members are the engine that drives the success of the college and its programs,” said Theresa Lee, dean. “Once a year, we gather to thank our faculty, to celebrate their contributions and accomplishments, and to publicly recognize a few individuals who represent the collective excellence of our entire faculty.”

Hap McSween was named the 2013 College Marshal, the highest college honor bestowed upon a faculty member. McSween is a Chancellor’s Professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences. He received the J. Lawrence Smith Medal from the National Academy of Sciences this year for his pioneering studies of meteorites and his work on the geological history of Mars. As College Marshal, McSween will represent the college in the spring and fall commencements.

John Koontz, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, received the Lorayne W. Lester Award, established to recognize faculty and staff who have demonstrated outstanding service to the college and its various constituencies.

Joseph R. Miles, assistant professor of psychology, received the Diversity Leadership Award for supporting the college’s and university’s commitment to diversity.

Stuart Riggsby, former dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and professor emeritus of microbiology, was awarded the Outstanding Service Award. Riggsby retired in 2005 but has continued to advance the mission and goals of the college.

Here’s a list of the other honors presented:

James R. and Nell W. Cunningham Outstanding Teaching Awards (honor tenured faculty for classroom teaching)

  • Mary Papke, professor of English
  • Randall L. Small, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology

Excellence in Teaching Awards

  • Salvador Bartera, classics lecturer
  • Jerzy Dydak, professor of mathematics
  • Tricia Redeker Hepner, associate professor of anthropology
  • William A. Jennings, political science lecturer
  • Elisabeth E. Schussler, assistant professor of ecology and evolutionary biology

Faculty Advising Awards

  • Charles R. Collins, associate professor of mathematics
  • Casey Sams, associate professor of theatre

Interdepartmental Collaboration in Scholarship and Research Award (highlights successful teamwork among faculty across disciplines and specialties)

  • Matthew A. Cooper, assistant professor of psychology
  • Jim C. Hall, associate professor of biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Rebecca A. Prosser, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology

Faculty Academic Outreach Award (recognizes faculty who have extended their scholarship and creative activity to directly benefit the community beyond the university).

  • Kristina C. Gordon, professor of psychology
  • Marilyn Kallet, professor of English
  • Christine Shepardson, associate professor of religious studies

Senior Faculty Research and Creative Achievement Award

  • David G. Anderson, professor of anthropology
  • Gregory L. Stuart, professor of psychology

Junior Faculty Research and Creative Achievement Award

  • Jon P. Camden, assistant professor of chemistry
  • Aimée T. Classen, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology

The College of Arts and Sciences comprises twenty-one academic departments and schools, seven centers and institutes, and thirteen interdisciplinary programs. The college’s academic programs are served by more than 600 faculty members.

C O N T A C T :

Lynn Champion (865-974-5332,

Be Sociable, Share!
Tagged as:

Produced by the Office of Communications & Marketing
The University of Tennessee • Knoxville, TN 37996 • (865) 974-2225