UT Schedules “Rocky Top Round-Up,” Homecoming Activities

KNOXVILLE — It’s Homecoming week in Tennessee, and the Alumni Association and other organizations have many events planned for alumni and students.

The week’s theme is “Rocky Top Round-Up.” Kick off time for the Homecoming football game against the Marshall University’s Thundering Herd is set for 4 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 23.

Friday, Sept. 22
–2 p.m., Reunion for all former UT Army ROTC Cadets, Knoxville Marriott, contact Keith Shields at (865) 603-9750 or kshields@titantransferinc.com or visit www.volarmy.org.
–4 p.m. Homecoming Parade, parade route is along Volunteer Blvd. with grandstand at Circle Park.
–5 p.m., Pep rally at Thompson-Boling Arena
–6 p.m., College of Social Work sixth annual Homecoming gala at Rothchilds Catering and Conference Center, $30/person. Contact Karla Edwards at (865) 974-6694 or kedwards@utk.edu for more information.
–8 p.m., Comedy Show featuring comedian Mo’Nique, at the Knoxville Civic Auditorium (sponsored by Black Cultural Programming Committee). Tickets are available through Tickets Unlimited at (865) 656-4444. Contact Demetrius Richmond at (865) 974-6861 or bcpc@utk.edu for more information.
–10 p.m., Party at the Magnolia Café with the Black Alumni Associates. Contact Phyllis Moore at (865) 974–3011 or phyllismoore@tennessee.edu.

Saturday, Sept. 23
–Noon to 3 p.m., Party in the Park at Circle Park, free and open to the public. Enjoy the pep band, cheerleaders, music, door prizes, face painting, balloon artist and more. The academic showcase features hands-on exhibits and displays from colleges, departments and constituent groups. Reservations & fee required for lunch by Buddy’s BBQ, $15 per person and $8 for children 10 and under. Food service ends at 3 p.m. Contact Darlene Taylor at (865) 974–3011 or dataylor@utk.edu for more information.
–Noon, College of Engineering Barbecue, courtyard of Ferris and Perkins Hall. Cost is $15/person. Contact Peg Schneider at (865) 974–2779 or mschnei1@utk.edu for more information.
–Noon, UT Institute of Agriculture Ag Day, free and open to the public. Contact Amy Jenkins at (865) 974–8622 or jenkins@tennessee.edu or visit agday.tennessee.edu for more information.
–1 p.m., Black Cultural Programming Committee Tailgate and festival at the Black Cultural Center. Contact Demetrius Richmond at (865) 974-6861 or bcpc@utk.edu for more information.
–1 p.m., College of Law Barbecue, law school patio. Cost is $15/person. Contact Angela Mills at (865) 974–6691 or amills3@utk.edu for information.
–2 p.m., UT Pre-game Showcase in the UC Ballroom (Room 213) featuring “When the Well Runs Dry: America’s Water Supply in Crisis” by Dr. David Feldman, political science. Contact Lynn Champion at (865) 974–4676 or champion@utk.edu.
–4 p.m., Kickoff, UT vs. Marshall
–Halftime, the UT Alumni Band will perform. Contact Judy Dooley at (865) 974–5031 or jdooley@utk.edu
–Halftime, All Campus Events trophy presentation for Homecoming competitions and crowning of Miss Homecoming 2006.
–8 p.m., Southeastern StompFest at the Knoxville Civic Auditorium. Local Greek organizations as well as teams from across the Southeast will perform. Tickets are available through Tickets Unlimited at (865) 656-4444. Contact Demetrius Richmond at (865) 974-6861 or bcpc@utk.edu.
–9 p.m. to 3 a.m., Blackout: An All-Black Attire Victory Social/Dance, sponsored by the Black Alumni Associates and Men of Alpha. Wear all black attire. Cost is $15 person and $25 per couple. Lord Lindsey, 214 W. Jackson Ave. Contact Phyllis Moore at(865) 974-3011 or phyllismoore@tennessee.edu

Sunday, Sept. 24
–Noon to 1:30 p.m., College of Communication & Information
Homecoming Brunch at the University Club. Cost is $15/person.
Contact Susan Barnes at (865) 974-7074 or sbarnes3@utk.edu for more information or to RSVP.

For more information on Homecoming activities contact the UTNAA at (865) 974-3011 or Kris Phillips at kris-phillips@tennessee.edu.

To register for homecoming events, visit www.utalumni.tennessee.edu.

Contacts:
Kris Phillips, (865) 974-3011 or kris-phillips@tennessee.edu

Beth Gladden, media relations, 974-9008 or beth.gladden@tennessee.edu

###